Home / About us / Members / Hassan Nazrin

Nazrin Hassan

Chief Executive Officer at Cradle Fund Sdn Bhd

The Chief Executive Officer of Cradle Fund Sdn Bhd, Nazrin Hassan returned to the Cradle Investment Programme in October 2007 upon appointment by the Ministry of Finance. As the face of Cradle, he inspires budding entrepreneurs to greater heights, and oversees all activities of the organisation. Closely involved in strategising more ways to reach potential groundbreaking ideas, Nazrin also works closely with the Ministry of Finance to best manage Cradle’s grants.
Starting his career as a Corporate Finance Executive in CIMB, he later left to begin his stint in entrepreneurship within the ZAR Group, which included an ICT arm which he headed, called Zarnet DotCom Sdn Bhd. In 2001, Nazrin clinched third place in the Venture 2001 National Business Plan Competition, which is the first nationwide business plan competition for high technology ventures.
At the end of 2001, Nazrin was invited to head the Funding & Finance Sub-Committee of Technopreneurs Association of Malaysia (TeAM). While in TeAM, Nazrin spearheaded the lobbying for developmental funding to the Malaysian government. After 2 years of intensive lobbying to all levels of Government, the Cradle Investment Programme (CIP) was born, whereby RM100million was allocated by the Ministry of Finance (MOF) in June 2003 to fill up the pre-seed and seed funding gap for high technology ventures.
Nazrin was appointed by Malaysia Venture Capital Management Berhad (MAVCAP) as the Head of the Structuring team in CIP before being appointed the Acting Head and Strategy and Policy Advisor for CIP in July 2004. He left CIP in December 2004 to continue with his own technology business ventures, with his last position being Deputy CEO and Director of Smart Convergence Sdn Bhd, a company that specialised in set top box technologies. While away, Nazrin remained active within ICT circles as the policy advisor in TeAM and was also the Executive Director of TeAM from March to October 2007.